Cricket World Cup 2023 Kicks off in India And Millions Are Waiting For Its Clash With Pakistan


The 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup began today, Thursday, in India, and its competitions will continue over 46 days, with the final taking place on November 19, 2023.

10 teams will participate in the new edition, as in the previous edition in 2019. They are: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India (host country), Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka.


The West Indies team (champion of the first two editions) will miss the tournament after failing to pass the qualifiers, while the India team reserved its place in the tournament, being the host country.

Cricket World Cup System

The ten teams were placed in one group, all playing against each other more than once, which means that the first round will witness 45 matches, according to what the British newspaper “The Guardian” reported.

The top four ranked teams qualify for the semi-finals, where the first-placed team plays against the fourth-placed team in the first semi-final, while the second-placed team faces its third-placed counterpart in the second semi-final.

The semi-final matches will be held in one match, with the two winners advancing to the final match, which will be held in Mumbai on November 19, 2023

Pakistan-looking-forward-to-meeting-India-again-in-the-final | Image Credit : ICC

The tournament matches will be held in 10 stadiums distributed in all Indian cities from north to south, and the most famous and largest of these stadiums of all is the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, which can accommodate about 132,000 spectators.

As for the cities hosting the tournament: They are: Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamshala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, New Delhi, Mumbai and Pune.

The strongest matches of the tournament

As usual with any sport, there is always an awaited match or summit between two teams or teams, and the situation in cricket is no different from other games, as the world awaits the classic confrontation between India and Pakistan, which is considered to be the strongest match in any tournament, and the most competitive and exciting.

This summit is scheduled to be held on October 14, and according to local reports, tickets for the meeting were completely sold out only an hour after announcing the start of their sale.

Championship prizes

The winning team will receive the championship trophy, in addition to a financial prize of $4 million, while the runner-up will receive $2 million, and the four teams that reach the final will receive $800,000.

Each team that passes the group stage will receive $100,000, while the reward for each win in the group stage is estimated at $40,000.

Teams that won the Cricket World Cup

The West Indies team succeeded in winning the first two tournament titles, in 1975 and 1979, while the Australia team holds the record for the number of times it has won the Cricket World Cup (5 times), in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015.

Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England won the title once, in 1992, 1996, and 2019, respectively, while India won the World Cup twice, in 1983 and 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *