What Are The Rules of Cricket?

What are the rules of cricket?

Cricket is a team sport played by two teams of 11 players each, in which a ball the size of a fist is hit by a player called the bowler, while the opposing player called the batsman tries to block the ball using a thin paddle similar to an oar. Attention is mainly focused Around two marks that form goals called a wicket or wicket, which is a group of three connected sticks called cricket stumps. The thrower tries to hit them in order to knock two wooden pieces fixed to the stumps called cricket bails. Cricket is played on a large grass field with a white field in the middle, 20.12 meters long and 3.04 wide. Meter.

Rules of cricket

Cricket is one of the famous sports in the world. It is considered the national game of England and is also played in Pakistan, India, Australia, and the British Isles. There are two types of cricket, Test Cricket, which is played over 5 days where each team has two innings, and Cricket. One Day Cricket is the most popular. Here are the basic rules of cricket:

The Game Consists of Two Teams, Each Team Consisting of 11 Players

The game consists of at least one inning where both teams will take turns throwing the ball and trying to block the ball, and sometimes it may be two innings.

On the field, there are two players from the defending team (the batsman team) who take turns to block the ball. They stand facing each other on both ends of the white rectangle (wicket keeper), while there are 11 players from the other team (the field team). 9 players are distributed around the rectangular floor in the oval-shaped grass field, and 2 players Two players, one of whom bowls, and the other stands opposite him behind the stumps to catch the ball if it goes past the batsman of the opposing team.

The Bowler Must Make 6 Successful Shots to Win The Round

The bowler throws the ball trying to hit the three woods (cricket stumps) and thus drop the two small pieces at the top of the three woods.

The opposing player stands in front of the cricket stumps, facing the bowler, and tries to block the bowler’s ball away from the cricket stumps to avoid hitting it.

The batsman will try to score the highest possible number of runs before being taken out of play by hitting the ball and running between the wickets and reaching the opposite side of the white rectangle before the opposing team succeeds in hitting the cricket stumps with the ball. Every time the player crosses the field is considered a run. If the racket player manages to block the ball but without taking it outside the boundaries of the oval-shaped court, he is credited with 4 points, but if he takes it outside the boundaries of the court, he is credited with 6 points.

The Defending Team (Bowling) Must Replace 10 Bowlers Before The Team Switches To Bowling


A batsman is taken out if the bowler manages to touch the stumps, or if the ball bounces off the bat after the bowler throws it and a player from the defending team manages to catch the ball before it touches the ground, or if the ball hits one of the batsman’s legs before it touches the bat. himself, or if, for example, a batsman accidentally touches the stumps, or if the ball touches a defender’s bat twice, or if a batsman’s entry is delayed for more than 30 seconds when a batsman is replaced, or if a batsman obstructs the fielding team’s access to the ball.

A point is scored every time the bowler throws the ball, regardless of whether the batsman receives it or not. When a bowler bowls the ball six times, a change is made, in which the bowler is replaced by a new bowler since one bowler cannot continue playing. After transfers, but can return to the field after the new pitcher has bowled at least one ball. This means that two pitchers can exchange places in one inning, and the pitcher’s place changes from one end of the field to the other after transfers.

The fielding team must have one dedicated wicket-keeper who is the only person allowed to wear guards and gloves on the field. The wicket-keeper stands behind the other end of the bowler to catch the ball.

In 2015, the power play law was amended, which requires that the number of members of one team be greater than the other, as follows: During the first 10 overs in the first half, a maximum of 2 players from the defending team are allowed outside the 30-yard circle, and passes from 11 to 40 Only 4 players are allowed to be outside the 30-yard circle, and the last 10 throws (41~50) 5 players are allowed to be outside the 30-yard circle, in order to open the game and increase the enthusiasm.

The points are cumulative, and the team with the largest number of runs – after blocking the shooter’s ball – is the winner.

How to score runs in cricket?

The aim of the batsmen is to score runs, as one of the main rules of cricket is that for batsmen to score a run they must run to the end of the rectangular pitch (from one end to the other) after blocking the bowler’s ball, and in doing so one run is scored ( Run), and it is worth noting that the rules of cricket stipulate that multiple runs (runs) may be scored for each shot. For example, either 4 or 6 runs may be scored, where 4 is scored if the ball bounces off the ground before it leaves the boundaries of the field after blocking the bowler’s ball. 6 If the ball goes outside the court boundaries after being blocked by the racket player without bouncing off the ground, and there are other ways to score points, which are as follows:

No Ball: If the thrower hits the ball in the wrong place on the racket owner’s body, for example, or if the ball bounces off the ground more than once or rolls before reaching the racket owner, or if one of the players is standing in the wrong place, one run is counted.

Wide balls: If the ball is thrown away from the owner of the racket and does not make sense, one run is counted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *